Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

The Commission

Functions and appointments | Contact us | Current members | Past members | Copyright


The Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland is responsible for:
  • carrying out reviews of the boundaries of local authority areas;
  • carrying out reviews of electoral wards for local authorities;
  • carrying out reviews of Scottish Parliament boundaries;
  • responding to requests for reviews of electoral wards or local authority areas.

The Commission is an Advisory Non-departmental Public Body sponsored and wholly funded by the Scottish Government. It is an independent, non-political body created by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. Full details of the legislation surrounding the Commission's work are available on the Legislation page.

The Commission is supported in its work by a small Secretariat.


Appointments to the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland are made under Schedule 4 to the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.

Members of the Commission are appointed by Scottish Ministers, following procedures approved by the Commissioner for Ethical Standards in Public Life in Scotland. Appointments are normally for 3 or 4 years, with the possibility of renewal. These posts receive a daily fee, plus expenses. Vacant posts are advertised in the national press and be subject to a process of selection and interview by a panel including the Chair and a representative of the Scottish Government. The final appointment is made by the Scottish Ministers.

Commissioners must be politically neutral. Many of them have knowledge and understanding of local government. Since 1973, the Deputy Chair has always been someone who has served at a senior level in a local authority.

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001