Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Cardowan, Stepps

The Commission has conducted an administrative area review of the boundary between Glasgow City council area and North Lanarkshire council area at Cardowan, Stepps.

We decided to undertake this review following a number of requests from local residents, to the east of Dewar Road, at Cardowan. The residents argued that they had stronger ties with North Lanarkshire council area and felt they were disadvantaged by being in a different council area from neighbours in the same development.

We consulted on our proposals with Glasgow Council and North Lanarkshire Council from 15 November 2016 until January 2017. Both Councils responded to the consultation and both raised issues concerning the amendment of the council area boundary. Their responses can be viewed here: Glasgow City Council and North Lanarkshire Council.

We held a 12 week public consultation on our proposals from 15 June until 6 September 2017. We wrote to all residents in the development (east of Dewar Road) and other interested stakeholders. We issued a press release and placed a public notice in the Metro newspaper announcing the start of the consultation. Our proposals were also available to view at Moodiesburn Library, Springburn Library and Learning Centre and Stepps Library.

The Commission considered responses to the consultations when it met on 4 December 2017 and agreed to adopt its proposals as its final recommendations for the revision of the boundary between Glasgow City council area and North Lanarkshire council area at Cardowan.

We submitted our Report to Scottish Ministers on 20 April 2018. Scottish Ministers decide whether to implement the recommendations. Comments on the Report can be made to Scottish Ministers within a 6 week period of the Report being published to: Scottish Government, Elections Team, Area 2W, St Andrews House, 2 Regent Road, Edinburgh EH1 3DG.

We previously conducted a review in this area in 2008; further information on this review is available here.

Links

Publication of Report: Report to Scottish Ministers (A18001) | News Release | Public Notice | Map of recommended boundary at Cardowan

Public consultation: Display Poster | Public Notice | News Release | responses submitted via our consultation hub. Responses submitted by post or email: Stepps and District Community Council | Glasgow City Council | North Lanarkshire Council | Response 1 | Response 2 | Response 3 | Response 4 | Response 5 | Response 6 | Response 7 | Response 8 | Response 9 | Response 10 | Response 11 | Response 12 | Response 13 | Response 14 | Response 15 | Response 16 | Response 17 | Response 18 | Response 19 | Response 20 | Response 21 | Response 22 | Response 23 | Response 24 | Response 25 | Response 26 | Response 27 | Response 28 | Response 29 | Response 30 | Response 31 | Response 32 | Response 33 | Response 34 | Response 35 | Response 36 | Response 37 | Response 38 | Response 39 | Response 40 | Response 41 | Response 42 | Response 43 | Response 44 | David Linden MP

Links to Cardowan Review Meeting Papers: 5 May 2015 | 7 July 2015 | 26 January 2016 | 22 August 2016 | 9 November 2016 | 14 March 2017 | 12 September 2017 | 4 December 2017 | 19 February 2018

The stages of an administrative area review are set out in legislation, and are summarised on the Process for Reviews page.

-
Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001
lgbcs@scottishboundaries.gov.uk