Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Cardowan, Stepps

The Commission is conducting an administrative area review of the boundary between Glasgow City council area and North Lanarkshire council area at Cardowan, Stepps.

We decided to undertake this review following a number of requests from local residents, to the east of Dewar Road, at Cardowan. The residents argued that they had stronger ties with North Lanarkshire council area and felt they were disadvantaged by being in a different council area from neighbours in the same development. We considered the requests at our meetings of 5 May 2015 and 7 July 2015 and agreed to undertake the review at Cardowan at our meeting of 26 January 2016. We conducted a review in this area in 2008, further information on this review is available here.

We agreed our Initial Proposals at our meeting of 9 November 2016 and wrote to the two affected local authorities on 15 November 2016, commencing the review. Both Councils responded to the consultation and both raised concerns with amending the council area boundary. Their responses can be viewed here: Glasgow City Council and North Lanarkshire Council.

Our public consultation commenced on 15 June 2017, for a 12 week period. We wrote to all residents in the development as well as other insterested stakeholders, issued a press release and placed a public notice in the Metro newspaper announcing the start of the consultation.

Our Proposals can be inspected here and at: Moodiesburn Library, North Lanarkshire and Springburn Library and Learning Centre and Stepps Library, Glasgow. Comments on our proposals can be submitted online via our consultation hub, by e-mail to lgbcs@scottishboundaries.gov.uk or in writing to us at LGBCS, Cardowan Review, Thistle House, 91 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5HD.

Comments should be submitted by 6 September 2017. All comments will be published later this year.

The stages of an administrative area review are set out in legislation, and are summarised on the Process for Reviews page.

Links: our consultation hub | Display Poster | Public Notice | News Release | Glasgow City Council response | North Lanarkshire Council response

Links to Cardowan Review Meeting Papers: 5 May 2015 | 7 July 2015 | 26 January 2016 | 22 August 2016 | 9 November 2016 | 14 March 2017

-
Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001
lgbcs@scottishboundaries.gov.uk