Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Cardowan, Stepps

The Commission is conducting an administrative area review of the boundary between Glasgow City council area and North Lanarkshire council area at Cardowan, Stepps.

We decided to undertake this review following a number of requests from local residents, to the east of Dewar Road, at Cardowan. The residents argued that they had stronger ties with North Lanarkshire council area and felt they were disadvantaged by being in a different council area from neighbours in the same development. We considered the requests at our meetings of 5 May 2015 and 7 July 2015 and agreed to undertake the review at Cardowan at our meeting of 26 January 2016. We conducted a review in this area in 2008, further information on this review is available here.

We agreed our Initial Proposals at our meeting of 9 November 2016 and wrote to the two affected local authorities on 15 November 2016, commencing the review. Both Councils responded to the consultation and both raised concerns with amending the council area boundary. Their responses can be viewed here: Glasgow City Council and North Lanarkshire Council.

We held a 12 week public consultation on our proposals from 15 June until 6 September 2017. We wrote to all residents in the development and other interested stakeholders. We issued a press release and placed a public notice in the Metro newspaper announcing the start of the consultation. Our proposals were also available to view at Moodiesburn Library, Springburn Library and Learning Centre and Stepps Library.

The Commission considered responses to the consultations when it met in December 2017. The Commission will agree its Final Recommendations Report at its next meeting in February 2018 and then submit those recommendations to Scottish Ministers in Spring 2018. When the Report is submitted to Scottish Ministers, it will also be published on our website, distributed to local authorities, other interested parties, and put on public display at libraries and council offices. Local residents will also be informed at this time. After we have submitted our Report, Scottish Ministers decide whether and how to implement the recommendations by submitting an Order to the Scottish Parliament. Comments on the Report can be made to Scottish Ministers within a 6 week period of the Report being published.

The stages of an administrative area review are set out in legislation, and are summarised on the Process for Reviews page.

Links: our consultation hub | Display Poster | Public Notice | News Release | Glasgow City Council response | North Lanarkshire Council response

Links to Cardowan Review Meeting Papers: 5 May 2015 | 7 July 2015 | 26 January 2016 | 22 August 2016 | 9 November 2016 | 14 March 2017

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001