Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Consultation on councillor numbers
Representations received

We held a consultation from January to March 2011 on how we should determine councillor numbers in our next review of electoral arrangements for Scottish local government. We received the following responses to the consultation, which we will consider when developing our policy.

You can download a summary of the content of all the representations and an index of those who made the representations.

Substantive responses

No. Size Representation
1 File icon (0.1 MB) Robert Collier, Chief Executive, Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce
3 File icon (0.1 MB) Alasdair Allan MSP
4 File icon (0.2 MB) Member of the Public
5 File icon (0.2 MB) Member of the Public
6 File icon (0.1 MB) Ian Livingstone, Chair, Scottish Local Authorities Remuneration Committee
7 File icon (0.1 MB) John Wilson MSP
8 File icon (0.1 MB) John Fleming, Head of Central Services, North Lanarkshire Council
9 File icon (0.2 MB) Jacqueline Lennie, Clerk, St Andrews and Deerness Community Council
10 File icon (0.1 MB) Alex Haswell, Director, Dumfries and Galloway Council
11 File icon (0.3 MB) Andrew MacKay, Corporate Projects Manager, City of Edinburgh Council
12 File icon (0.1 MB) Jim Clifford, Legal and Secretariat Manager, Midlothian Council
13 File icon (0.1 MB) Jenny Wilkinson, Democratic Services Manager, Scottish Borders Council
14 File icon (0.1 MB) Councillor Peter Argyle, Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside, Aberdeenshire Council
15 File icon (0.1 MB) Councillor Eddie Phillips, Secretary, National Association of Councillors
16 File icon (0.2 MB) Jackie Montgomery, Clerk, Evie and Rendall Community Council
17 File icon (0.1 MB) Malcolm Burr, Chief Executive, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
18 File icon (0.1 MB) Alastair Nicol, Clerk, Aberdeenshire Council
19 File icon (0.1 MB) Councillor Alastair Witts, Dumfries and Galloway Council, Nith Ward
20 File icon (0.1 MB) Councillor Denis Agnew, West Dunbartonshire Council
21 File icon (0.1 MB) William Pollock, Corporate Administration Manager, South Ayrshire Council
22 File icon (0.2 MB) Mary Pitcaithly, Chief Executive, Falkirk Council
23 File icon (0.1 MB) Councillor Peter Cairns, Highland Council SNP Group
24 File icon (0.2 MB) Councillor Jonathan McColl, Political Secretary, West Dunbartonshire Council SNP Group
25 File icon (0.1 MB) L McAdie, Community Councillor, St Andrews and Deerness Community Council
26 File icon (0.2 MB) Hazel Flett, Clerk, Kirkwall and St Ola Community Council
27 File icon (0.2 MB) George Black, Chief Executive, Glasgow City Council
28 File icon (0.1 MB) Paolo Vestri, Corporate Policy Manager, East Lothian Council
29 File icon (0.2 MB) Elaine Grieve, Orkney Islands Council
30 File icon (0.1 MB) Gordon Morrison, Parliamentary Officer, Highland Council

Non-substantive responses

2 File icon (0.1 MB) Jeremy Purvis MSP
5a File icon (0.1 MB) Member of the Public
5b File icon (0.1 MB) Sarah O'Neill, Head of Policy, Consumer Focus Scotland
11a File icon (0.1 MB) Elma Murray, Chief Executive, North Ayrshire Council
Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001