Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Islands Reviews

On 14 January 2019 the Commission announced the commencement of its reviews of electoral arrangements for the six council areas specified in the Islands (Scotland) Act 2018.

These are Argyll and Bute Council, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Highland Council, North Ayrshire Council, Orkney Islands Council and Shetland Islands Council.

The reviews will result in recommendations for the number of councillors on each council and the number and boundaries of wards for the election of those councillors.

The new islands legislation allows for use of 1 or 2 member wards, in addition to the current multi-member wards, where a ward includes an inhabited island.

The Commission will conduct the reviews in two phases, focussing first on Na h-Eilanan an Iar, Orkney Islands and Shetland Islands council areas. The Commission began its 2-month consultation with councils on its initial proposals for electoral arrangements in these 3 areas on 20 March 2019.

It will then review Argyll and Bute, Highland and North Ayrshire council areas.

On 20 March 2019 the Commission began a 2-month consultation on its proposals for electoral arrangements with Na h-Eilanan an Iar, Orkney Islands and Shetland Islands council areas. In the summer the Commission will conduct a 12-week public consultation on its proposals for these areas.


News Release Consultation with Councils on initital proposals begins (20 March 2019)
News Release Islands Reviews commence (14 January 2019)
LGIU Scotland Podcast 15 minutes with Ronnie Hinds on the Islands Boundary Reviews, link to LGIU Scotland website
Meeting Paper Index Development of Proposals - Meeting Paper Index
Electorate Data Electorate Data and methodology for forecasting electorate
Legislation Islands (Scotland) Act 2018, see Part 4

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001