Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Islands Reviews

On 14 January 2019 the Commission announced the commencement of its reviews of electoral arrangements for the six council areas specified in the Islands (Scotland) Act 2018.

These are Argyll and Bute Council, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Highland Council, North Ayrshire Council, Orkney Islands Council and Shetland Islands Council.

The reviews will result in recommendations for the number of councillors on each council and the number and boundaries of wards for the election of those councillors.

The new islands legislation allows for use of 1 or 2 member wards, in addition to the current multi-member wards, where a ward includes an inhabited island.

The Commission will conduct the reviews in two phases, focussing first on na h-Eilanan an Iar and Orkney and Shetland Islands council areas.

It will then review Argyll and Bute, Highland and North Ayrshire council areas.

News Release - 14 January 2019
LGIU Scotland Podcast - 15 minutes with Ronnie Hinds on the Islands Boundary Reviews, link to LGIU Scotland website.
Legislation - Islands (Scotland) Act 2018, see Part 4

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001